Event Image


Brevard County residents live in 16 municipalities, each of which has its own governing body, and in unincorporated areas governed directly by the county.

The county is governed by elected commissioners from five geographical districts who establish ordinances and set policies, and are administered by a county manager, Stockton Whitten.

Brevard County Commission

District 1
North Brevard south to State Road 406 and west to the St. Johns River south of State Road 520; Commissioner Robin Fisher (chair)

District 2
Cocoa Beach, Cape Canaveral, Merritt Island and portions of Cocoa and West Cocoa; Commissioner Jim Barfield (vice chair)

District 3
Southeast Brevard (including Melbourne and Indialantic), West Melbourne, parts of Palm Bay, Malabar, Micco and Grant; Commissioner Trudie Infantini

District 4
North from Aurora Road in Melbourne to the northern boundaries of Rockledge. All of Rockledge, Suntree, Viera, Palm Shores and North Melbourne and, west of Interstate-95, Lake Washington north of Lake Washington Road. The district also includes Satellite Beach, South Patrick Shores and South Tropical Trail below the Pineda Causeway; Commissioner Curt Smith

District 5
From Aurora Road to New Haven Avenue in Melbourne and areas west of Melbourne and in western Palm Bay, and east to the Indian Harbour Beach area; Commissioner Andy Anderson

Brevard County Government Center

Although the county seat is located in Titusville, many functions take place at the Brevard County Government Center in Viera. The Brevard County Sheriff’s Office, which handles law enforcement in unincorporated areas and some cities and towns, has multiple precincts and stations around the county, as does Brevard County Fire-Rescue.

For a complete listing of government offices, cities, municipalities and more, visit BrevardCounty.us